She’s So Organized: Getting Ready for Baby

When you are expecting a new baby in the house, there can be an overwhelming sense of urgency to get your house in order.  The nesting period experienced by most women can actually be very helpful in the last moments before you have your little one.  As a mother of two young ones, I strongly urge you to not fight those feelings as your body is sensing the need to start preparing your nest!  I have added some tips that I have learned over the years that have helped with having new little ones in the house.

1) Keep Essentials Close

Whether you chose to have the baby in the room with you or in a crib in another room make sure to have all those baby essentials close by. The first few months of constant diaper changes and feeding in the middle of the night means you probably will be pretty exhausted, so being prepared can be extremely helpful during these hours.  This means diapers, wipes, diaper cream, Vaseline and gauze (circumcised boys),  pacifiers, aspirator , formula (if you aren’t breast feeding) and don’t forget water for yourself.  Make sure every night before you go to bed you have restocked everything and put all items in a designated spot. There is nothing worse than realizing in the middle of the night you are out of supplies and have to rummage around the house to find what you need.   If your bedroom is upstairs, I highly recommend a second small fridge in your bedroom or the baby’s room.  This comes in handy for storing breast milk, extra formula, and water for yourself.  Below is a product I use to keep baby essential items close.

2) Diapers and Wipes

When I was a first time mom I received hundreds of diapers from my showers, I thought to myself there is no way I can use this many diapers….wow was I  wrong!!  With my first son, keeping diapers and wipes stocked in our household seemed to be a constant challenge.  After my second son, I  took advantage of the convenience of online ordering.  I highly recommend using either Diapers.com or Amazon.com to keep your diapers and wipes stocked. The ability to order at your finger tips and delivered to your door without having to leave your doorstep at extremely competitive prices with 2 day delivery, there is just no excuse for running out of diapers or wipes.  I also never have to haul those large boxes out to my car and into my house either, YES!!

3) Laundry

One of the many stresses to having a baby is overwhelming feeling of clutter in your house and the constant dirty clothes, sheets, and blankets can be a large contributing factor to the clutter.  Keep laundry baskets close by, if  you have multiple floors make sure you keep a laundry basket on each floor dedicated for the baby’s laundry.  Immediately after the baby is changed or bed is change make a conscious effort to make sure the laundry is put immediately in the basket.  The less steps that have to be taken the more likely it will end up in the basket, so keep as close to where the baby will be changed.  This will help isolate the number of places in the house the dirty laundry ends up.

4) Bottles

If you are breast-feeding I can honestly say this is the cheapest and most clutter free option.  Not having to worry about keeping up with bottles can be a major plus (obviously there are many more major pluses to breast-feeding but this of course is written from an organization perspective).   If you chose not to breast-feed or are just not able to, you will be forced to use bottles. After every feeding make sure to rinse out the bottle and if you have the time wash immediately.  In our family we make an effort to make sure bottles are washed nightly for the next day (and yes I will admit there have been a few nights where we have fallen asleep and bottles have not been washed 🙂 ).  This will help to make sure your house does not get overtaken by plastic bottles.   My husband and I trade off, this way one of us gets a break from the overwhelming excitement of washing bottles.  Below is what I use to keep bottles organized while drying.

Storing bottles away can be another challenge,  baby bottles are one of those awkward products to organize and they can easily overtake a cabinet or pantry. I have found for me the best way to neatly store baby bottles is to separate the bottles (I used a pan organizer) and components separately in an easy to access bin. Below is an example of how I store my bottles.

These are just a few tips you can use to get organized before baby or even after baby.  Of course if you need more help I am available through my professional organization services offered on my Services Tab. Check out my new “Getting Ready for Baby” package which specializes in getting your house ready for your new bundle of joy.

Having a new baby in your house is such a wonderful joy and beautiful time, having less clutter and stress in your home can help you enjoy it even more!

Leave a Reply

