She’s So Organized: SmartPhones

So in a previous post I talked about leveraging technology to stay more organized and one of the best tools out there now for staying organized are smartphones!  Before your cell phone was your phone, well now this new cool tool  functions as your phone and your planner.  To me there isn’t a reason to carry around those bulky planners anymore, everything that planners did smart phones do plus ten times more.  As we all say there has to be an App for that!

If you never heard the term apps basically these are applications that may already exist on your phone or that can be downloaded onto your phone and there are thousands to chose from.  The thing I love most about my phone is not the phone itself but the apps.  They really do make my day to day life a little easier and to me it is honestly exciting to find a new app that can make my life more organized :).

Below are some of my favorite apps that keep me organized:

1) Calendar – This app really isn’t an app that you have to download but comes already on your phone.  This tool lets you create your appointments right on your phone and gives you the ability to set reminders so you don’t forget that next doctor’s appointment.  I love it when I setup a new doctor’s appointment and they ask me “Do you need a reminder card?”, nope got it in my phone!  For me it is one less thing for me to have to keep track of.

2) Occasions – This app keeps track of all my friends birthdays and anniversaries from my phone.  It reviews my contact information on my phone and Facebook and notifies me a week and the day of the event.  This allows me enough advanced warning to make sure I buy that birthday or anniversary card and they are sent out on time.   It also links to my phone’s calendar so I don’t even need to go into the app.

3) iRxHelper – This little prescription application is so simple yet for me keeps me on top of making sure my prescriptions are ordered on time before we run out and that I always have the information I need.  When the doctor asks what prescriptions my children or I am taking and what are the strengths?  Before I would always answer “I will need to get back to you on that”, not anymore.

4) ToDo – I have all tasks (work and home) all listed in my ToDo Application.  This nice little app let’s me setup recurring tasks and setup alerts to push notifications to me at particular times of the day.  So on Mondays when that daycare paycheck is due I receive my reminder on my phone while I’m getting ready.  No more need for that post it note!

Also, there is no scrambling to find my to do list or a pen and paper when I need to add something to my list.  The second I think of that crucial thing that needs to get done, I grab my phone and start typing.  Wala my to do item will not be forgotten!

5) GroceryIQ – I mentioned this app in an early post but it is still one of my favorite applications.  I used to always forget my grocery list at home and struggle to remember what I need (my memory is horrible)….well not anymore!  This app let’s me create my grocery list in minutes and allows me to grocery shop in half the time.  It also saves me having to tell my husband what he needs to pickup from the grocery store and  where it is located.  The app syncs with his phone and tells him exactly what aisle everything is in.  Have I mentioned lately I love this app!!

A couple others tools on my phone that keep me organized are of course my email,  contacts, and the ability to text.  I am not sure how I lived without having my email and contacts always on me but I definitely know I wasn’t as organized then!

If you own a Smartphone have fun app shopping, if you don’t own a Smartphone get one it will honestly transform your life.  If not for to keep you more organized at least to enjoy a game of AngryBirds!

Leave a Reply

